Seeking nominations for Livestock Producer of the Year

Beef Central, 02/07/2012


Tom Gubbins, a seedstock producer from Mortlake in Victoria, was last year's Livestock Producer of the Year.The Australian Farmer of the Year Awards celebrate the highly professional, innovative and sustainable approach of the nation’s primary producers, showcasing their passion and raising the profile of the important role they play in the Australian community.

The Awards are designed to promote a positive image of Australian farmers and graziers, inspire and encourage career choices and investment interest in Australian agriculture.

There are 11 award categories in 2012, the winners from each of which automatically qualify for the prestigious Australian Farmer of the Year overall prize. This top award is not open to nominations and will be selected from the sub-category winners.

Categories relevant to the beef industry include:

  • Rural Leader of the Year
  • Young Farmer of the Year
  • Biosecurity Farmer of the Year (Animal)
  • Diversification Farmer of the Year
  • Livestock Producer of the Year, and
  • Farming Woman of the Year. 

The Livestock Producer of the Year category, sponsored by WFI Insurance, will reward a stakeholder who applies a professional, innovative and a sustainable approach to their livestock enterprise.  

The selection process will take into account everything from animal health and nutrition practises, breeding strategies, preparing livestock for sale, selling options and engaging with the industry beyond the farm-gate.

Industry stakeholders can either nominate a fellow livestock producer, or themselves, and can enter more than one category. Organisers encourage self-nomination, saying it is important to put modesty aside, and share success stories to help promote Australia's dynamic meat and livestock industry.

Be aware of community expectations, says last year's winner

Last year’s Livestock Producer of the Year winner was Victorian Angus seedstock producer Tom Gubbins, who says livestock production provides a good living and the industry is to be enjoyed.

He is owner and director of Te Mania Angus, one of Australia’s leading Angus seedstock producing operations. Te Mania runs 1600 registered breeders on 2708ha of country near Mortlake, and has just completed another record bull sale.

Mr Gubbins’ advice to other producers is to be aware of what society expects of farmers and farming.

“That means keeping an eye on issues like the environment and animal welfare,” he said.

“At the same time producers need to remain profitable and enjoy farming and grazing — it’s important not to lose sight of why we’re doing it.”

Hosted by Kondinin Group, ABC Rural and the Australian Rural Leadership Foundation, this year's dinner and award ceremony will be held at the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne on September 12.

Kondinin Group’s Paul Mole said the vision of the Australian Farmer of the Year awards was to promote the importance of agriculture to the continued prosperity of broader community, and to build respect for the country’s farmers.

Award nominations close on August 3.

  • To enter visit and download the nomination form for the category/categories you would like to enter. Fill in the details and send to Kondinin Group either via email   mail: Farmer of the Year, PO Box 78 Leederville WA 6902  or fax to 1800 657 509.




Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Beef Central's news headlines emailed to you -