Record 21 Nuffield Scholarships awarded for 2014

Beef Central, 20/09/2013

The recipients of the latest round of Nuffield farm scholarships were announced at the annual Nuffield Australia conference in Perth last night.

The 21 scholars from around Australia each receive a $30 thousand bursary to fund a 16-week program comprising both group and individual travel.

The scholars will complete their studies in 2014, focusing on a wide range of topics including global export opportunities for vegetables, Unmanned Aerial Vehicles for the grains industry, improving crop germination and yield in a drying climate, intensive hydroponic berry production, productivity gains for dairy farming and commercial viability of alternative flower petal products.

Nuffield Australia chairman Terry Hehir said it was very pleasing to be able to award a record 21 scholars.

“Not only do they bring a new range of experience and knowledge into our organisation, but they are also about to have an experience many alumni have described as life-changing,” Mr Hehir says.

Initially scholars travel as a group on a 6-week tour through some of the world?s agricultural powerhouses, including Brazil, India, the United States, China, Mexico and Europe – the first group in 2014 will depart in March.

The scholars then spend a further 10 weeks travelling individually, studying a research topic of their choice.

However, as Nuffield Australia CEO Jim Geltch explains, announcing the new scholars for 2014 is just a small part of the Perth conference.

“We are also hearing presentations from 16 scholars who have just completed their studies into topics ranging from value-adding hay to using smart-phone apps and gourmet asparagus production.

“It?s just fantastic to hear the enthusiasm with which our returning scholars talk about their experiences travelling the world, ultimately bringing worlds-best practice home,” Mr Geltch concluded.

2014 Nuffield Scholars


Ben Boughton (Moree

)?Nicky Mann (Warnervale)

Ben Ralston (Batemans Bay)

Keshav Timalsena (Armidale)


Nigel Corish (Goondiwindi)

Michael Lyons (Charters Towers)

Simon Mattsson (Marian)


Tania Chapman (Mildura)


Karen Brock (Winkleigh)

Greg Gibson (Hagley)

Paul Niven (Stanley)


Wayne Dredge (Lakes Entrance)

Emma Germano (Mirboo North)

Tim Gubbins (Moyston)?

Hannah Marriott (Kalkallo)

Aubrey Pellett (Hill End)

Sarah Sammon (Swan Hill)


Colin de Grussa (Esperance)

Nick Gillett (Bencubbin)?

Bob Nixon (Kalannie)?

Chris Reichstein (Esperance)


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Beef Central's news headlines emailed to you -