Finalists announced for MSA Awards

Beef Central, 08/09/2017

The finalists in the 2017 Meat Standards Australia (MSA) Excellence in Eating Quality Awards have been announced, with the first of the awards to be presented in Queensland on 15 September.

The Awards recognise producers throughout Australia who have achieved outstanding compliance rates to MSA specifications, as well as high eating quality, as represented by MSA Index results for beef carcases graded during the 2015-16 and 2016-17 financial years.

A ‘Most Outstanding Beef Producer’ and a ‘Most Outstanding Beef Producer – Grainfed’ MSA producer will be awarded in each state. One producer from each state will also win the inaugural MSA Excellence in Eating Quality Progress Award for showing the greatest improvement in their MSA results since the 2014-15 financial year.

The Awards are being staged in conjunction with the ‘What Makes the Perfect MSA Index’ producer forums in each state.

MSA Program Manager Sarah Strachan said the awards were a great opportunity to recognise producers who are committed to producing beef that consistently achieves exceptional compliance rates to MSA’s strict specifications and delivers an outstanding eating experience.

“We congratulate the finalists in this year’s Awards. It’s a major achievement to be named a finalist, given that more than 14,000 producers throughout Australia consigned almost 5.9 million cattle to the MSA program throughout 2015-17,” Ms Strachan said.

The finalists in each state are (in alphabetical order):


Most Outstanding Beef Producer:
Reardon Operations, Talwood
W & T Roche, Murrays Bridge
KJ Wonka, Chinchilla
Most Outstanding Beef Producer – Grainfed:
Kerwee Feedlot, Jondaryan
Reardon Operations, Talwood
Woodland Farming Co, Oakey


Most Outstanding Beef Producer:
CW Coyle, Barnawartha North
CW & IJ Delmenico, Ultima
MJ & KA Pund, Beechworth
Most Outstanding Beef Producer – Grainfed:
Alloa Pastoral Co, Milawa
RM Gillett & Co, Anakie
West Wimmera Beef, Nhill



Most Outstanding Beef Producer:
JE Firth, Barrington
JR & DJ Howe, Mole Creek
KJ Simpson, Wynyard
(NB: There will be one award covering all Tasmanian MSA beef producers due to the small number of grainfed eligible beef presented for MSA grading during the assessment period.)

Western Australia

Most Outstanding Beef Producer:
SS & LM Ablett, Cowaramup
LE & EF Brookes, Bridgetown
MD & LL Cole, Nannup

Most Outstanding Beef Producer – Grainfed:
Carpenter Beef, Dandaragan
Kylagh Cattle, Tammin
Semini Enterprises, Treeton

South Australia

Most Outstanding Beef Producer:
Blue Lake Station, Kongorong
MR, GD & KH Rathjen, Springton
Swiss Australian Farm Holding Pty Ltd, Padthaway
Most Outstanding Beef Producer – Grainfed:
Englefield Grange, Wandearah
Iranda Beef, Tintinara
Tomich Pastoral Co, Lower Light


New South Wales

Most Outstanding Beef Producer:
R&J Baillie, Wiagdon
Crichton Kyle Pt Ltd, Young
JAC Wagyu, Bingara

Most Outstanding Beef Producer – Grainfed:
Bunnaloo Pastoral Co, Bunnaloo
Jabell Partnership, Finley
Rangers Valley, Glen Innes


Source: MLA: To find out more information about the Awards and forums in each state and to register, please visit

To find out more information about the MSA Program visit


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Beef Central's news headlines emailed to you -