AgForce announces new Cattle leadership team

Beef Central, 27/10/2014
Bim Struss

Bim Struss

AgForce Queensland has today welcomed a new Cattle leadership team at its Annual General Meeting held in Brisbane.

Anthony ‘Bim’ Struss, a cattle producer from Havelock at Mitchell. has taken over the reins from AgForce Cattle President, Howard Smith, Mt Panorama, Rolleston.

Lachlan Hughes, Heatherlea, Dulacca has been named as a new vice president and Peter Hall, Oorindi Park, Cloncurry, as vice president/treasurer.

“I’ve no doubt that with this newly established team we can truly make AgForce the premier rural business advocacy group for the beef and cattle industry in Queensland that is recognised by Government, industry and the community alike,” Mr Struss said.

“Our priority will be delivering outcomes for our members in terms of reducing regulatory impost, improving the red meat industry to be more streamlined and responsive to producer needs, engaging young people in policy activities, promoting supply chain investment, reducing costs across the board as well as growing our membership and improving services to our cattle producers.”

As recently reported by Beef Central, retiring AgForce cattle president Howard Smith is set to run for the Cattle Council of Australia  presidency at the council’s AGM in Sydney next month.

Mr Smith nominated the establishment of the Pasturefed Cattle Assurance Scheme (PCAS), which was largely instigated by AgForce, as a highlight of his time on the AgForce cattle board.

“The likes of PCAS make that extra premium our producers are looking for just so much more accessible, and at long last hails our grass-fed product.”

Mr Smith also recalled the reduction of export tariffs through the Japan and Korea Free Trade Agreement.

“The reduction of tariffs within the industry is always going to be a positive, and something AgForce pushed hard for,” he said.

“They’ve been imposed on our beef for years and this just goes one step further to opening the export market for Queensland producers.”

Mr Struss thanked Mr Smith for his progressive leadership and positivity in what has been a challenging time for the Queensland cattle industry.

“Mr Smith was a driving force in achieving some monumental achievements in the industry over the last two years, and I look forward to continuing on this work.”

Mr Struss also thanked other retiring Directors  Rick Britton (2008 – 2014), Robyn Bryant (2010 – 2014), Ian Groves (2010 – 2014), Michael Mactaggart (2012 – 2014), Tom Seiler (2010 – 2014), Alex Stubbs (2007 – 2014) and Melinee Leather (Director 2010 – 2012; Vice President Treasurer 2012 – 2014) for their service to AgForce members.

Source: AgForce Queensland



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Beef Central's news headlines emailed to you -