Littleproud retains Ag portfolio in Shadow Cabinet

Beef Central, 05/06/2022

Nationals in the new senior shadow cabinet are, clockwise from top left, Perin Davey, David Littleproud, Susan McDonald, Barnaby Joyce, Bridget McKenzie, Kevin Hogan.

The make-up of the Federal Opposition frontbench was announced by Liberals leader Peter Dutton and Nationals leader David Littleproud in Brisbane on Sunday afternoon.

The Nationls have secured six members in the Shadow Cabinet with Mr Littleproud retaining responsibility for the Agriculture portfolio.

Senator Perin Davey takes on Water Resources and Emergency Management, while Senator Bridget McKenzie becomes shadow minister for Infrastructure, Transport Regional Development.

Kevin Hogan is the new opposition spokesperson for Trade and Tourism and Senator Susan McDonald takes responsbility for Resources and Northern Australia.

Former Nationals leader and deputy PM Barnaby Joyce has been named Shadow Minister for Veterans Affairs.

Liberal deputy leader Sussan Ley has also been named opposition spokeswoman for skills and industry. Former energy minister Angus Taylor will tkae on the Shadow Treasury portfolio, while former cabinet minister Alan Tudge will be Shadow Education Minister.

Jane Hume will be the opposition finance spokeswoman, and Andrew Hastie enters the shadow cabinet as the spokesperson for defence.

Michaelia Cash takes responsibility for employment and workplace relations Karen Andrews takes on home affairs.

Jonathan Duniam has been named Shadow Environment Minister, while former trade minister Dan Tehan will hold the immigration portfolio. Julian Leeser will take the opposition attorney-general portfolio and Indigenous affairs and Senator Anne Ruston becomes spokesperson for health and aged care.

Mr Dutton said former foreign affairs minister Marise Payne had asked not to be in the opposition cabinet and has accepted the role of cabinet secretary.

Nationals MPs filling outer ministry roles are Andrew Gee as Regional Health Regional Education and Michael McCormack as International Development and the Pacific. Assistant shadow ministers include Anne Webster (regional development), Michelle Landry (Manufacturing) and Pat Conaghan (Social Service and Prevention of Domestic Violence).

10 women fill seats in the cabinet of 24.








Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Beef Central's news headlines emailed to you -