2019 Zanda McDonald award shortlist announced

Beef Central, 20/09/2018

SIX young agriculture professionals from both sides of the Tasman have been announced for the prestigious Zanda McDonald Award for 2019.

Now in its fifth year, the award recognises innovative young professionals in agriculture from across Australasia. Five Australians and a New Zealander have been shortlisted for the 2019 award based on their passion for agriculture, strong leadership skills, and their vision for the primary industry.

Featuring on this year’s shortlist are Australians Alice Mabin 32, owner of Alice Mabin Pty Ltd in Linthorpe Queensland; Harry Kelly, 26, Manager of Mooramook Pastoral Co in Caramut Victoria; Luke Evans, 28, station manager of Cleveland Agriculture near Tennant Creek, Northern Territory; Nick Boshammer, 30, director of NBG Holdings near Chinchilla, Queensland; and Shannon Landmark, 27, coordinator of the Northern Genomics Project at the University of Queensland. Kiwi Grant McNaughton, 34, managing director of McNaughton Farms in Oamaru, North Otago rounds off the six.

Interviews for the shortlisted applicants will take place in Brisbane later next month, where a panel of nine judges will reduce the group of six down to three finalists.

Shane McManaway, award judge and chairman of the Platinum Primary Producers (PPP) – the Australasian networking group behind the award – says the judging panel was excited at the prospect of meeting this years’ candidates.

“The calibre of applicants for this year’s award has been superb. All six demonstrate great ambition and leadership skills, a desire to improve the industry and an unwavering passion for the ag sector.

“This award is a tribute to Zanda McDonald, and to the enormous contribution he made to agri-business. The Zanda McDonald Award is all about helping agriculture’s future leaders unleash their career potential for the greater good of the industry,” Mr McManaway said.

The judges’ next task is to select three finalists, and identify a winner who will receive the $50,000 prize package and mentoring program.

Three finalists will be announced towards the end of the year, and will be invited to attend the PPP Conference in Port Douglas in May, 2019. The winner will be announced at the event.


About the award:

Zanda McDonald was a prominent identity in the Australian beef and livestock industry and a foundation member of the PPP Group. He died in April 2013 at the age of 41, following an accident on his North Queensland cattle property. Launched in 2014 by the Platinum Primary Producers (PPP) Group, this award was born out of mate-ship and respect for one of agriculture’s natural leaders.

The PPP Group is a collective of 130 of Australasia’s most influential rural leaders, representing 12 million hectares (28pc) of farmland across the two countries and over 20 million livestock units.

The award is open to passionate and determined individuals under the age of 35 years who are currently working in the agri-business sectors of either Australia or New Zealand, and who demonstrate natural leadership ability.


Source: PPP


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


  1. Sarah Cameron, 20/09/2018

    Congrats to Boshy and all others nominated for this fantastic award

Get Beef Central's news headlines emailed to you -